David Price, R.A. Dickey Named 2012 Cy Young Winners

Tampa Bay Rays left-hander David Price and New York Mets right-hander R.A. Dickey were named by the BBWAA as the 2012 American and National League Cy Young Award winners.

Price narrowly edged reigning winner and Detroit Tigers right-hander Justin Verlander to claim his first Cy Young award. Price received 14 first place votes while Verlander notched 13. Verlander finished four total points behind Price.

Rays closer Fernando Rodney was the only other pitcher to receive a first place vote, and Los Angeles Angels right-hander Jered Weaver was the only pitcher not named Price or Verlander to garner second place votes.

Price posted an ERA and WHIP of 2.56 and 1.100 over 31 starts spanning 211 innings. He finished the year with 20 wins compared to five losses and struck out 8.7 batters per nine innings.

The voting was not quite as close in the NL, as Dickey, who received 209 total points, was the only pitcher to surpass 100. Los Angeles Dodgers lefty Clayton Kershaw received two first place votes, while Gio Gonzalez (Nationals), Johnny Cueto (Reds) and Craig Kimbrel (Braves) each received one.

Over 34 appearances, including 33 starts, Dickey maintained an ERA and WHIP of 2.73 and 1.053. The 38-year-old finished the year with 20 wins.

Posted in , , , . Bookmark the permalink. RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Sports Injury News LLC. Powered by Blogger.


Swedish Greys - a WordPress theme from Nordic Themepark. Converted by LiteThemes.com.